Candidates Set for Havre School Board Election

HAVRE, Mont. (NMB) – The candidate list has been unveiled for the mail-ballot Havre School Board Election set for Tuesday, May 4th.

A total of three seats will be on the ballot, all representing the Elementary School District.

Five candidates are competing for three-year terms in two seats currently occupied by Trustees Lorraine Larson and Harvey Capellen. Those candidates are: Michele Holden, Jacob R. Ingram, Jessica Kennedy-Stiffarm, Lorraine Larson and Erin Pulse. Larson was recently appointed as a Trustee when Ed Hill stepped down, while the other seat is currently occupied by Harvey Capellen, who did not file for re-election. Capellen has served on the Board since 2009.

A total of two candidates are competing to fill the final year of former Trustee Brian Williams’ term on the Board. The two candidates are Brandon Berreth and Garrit Ophus. Williams recently stepped down after moving out of the area. The Board appointed Scott Adams to fill the seat, but Adams resigned soon after. The seat was then filled by Garrit Ophus.

The election for a fourth seat, which represents the High School District has been canceled after only one candidate filed. Britnee’ Loch will be replacing Aileen Couch on the Board after Couch did not seek another term. Couch has served on the Board since 2002.

There will not be a school levy on the ballot.

Prior to election day, ballots may be returned to the Robins Administration Building, 425 6th Street, Havre, MT, 59501 on weekdays between 8 AM-5 PM. Ballots may be returned to the Robins Building on election day between 8 AM-8 PM.

Anyone not registered to vote can visit the Hill County Courthouse to apply for registration. Late registrants can obtain a ballot on election day at the Robins Building.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © New Media Broadcasters. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.