Candidate Filings Continue to Roll in

HAVRE, Mont. (NMB) – Candidate filing for the 2020 Election in Montana has been open since January 9th, and a number of candidates have filed in the past week.

For positions filed through Hill County, the only candidate to file in the past week was William Thackeray of Havre. He has filed to be the Democratic Precinct Committeeman.

For positions filed through the Secretary of State, a number of candidates filed in the past week.

For House District 15, Democratic incumbent Marvin Weatherwax Jr. of Browning has filed for re-election.

For House Districts 17 and 18, Republican incumbents Ross Fitzgerald of Fairfield and Llew Jones of Conrad have filed for re-election.

For House District 31, Frank Smith of Poplar has filed as a Democrat. Smith is currently the representative for Senate District 16, but cannot run for re-election because of term limits.

The incumbent for House District 31, Democrat Bridget Smith of Wolf Point, can not run because of term limits. Instead, she is running to replace Frank Smith’s seat representing Senate District 16.

For House District 34, incumbent Republican Rhonda Knudsen of Culbertson has filed for re-election.

The filing deadline for the 2020 Election is March 9. Primaries are scheduled for June 2, with the General Election taking place on November 3.

Copyright © New Media Broadcasters. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.